In defence of Headington library

by Philip Hunt – 18 December 2010

I was sorry to hear today of the planned closure of Headington public library, which it seems is to suffer the same fate as much of Oxfordshire’s precious network of community libraries. I grew up in Cowley, and as a child spent inordinate amounts of time at Temple Cowley library. I believe it was the facilities there that developed my confidence in an ability to tackle just about anything, in the belief that even if I didn’t know about it I knew where I could find out.

Such resources are incredibly important to growing children. The quest for knowledge in young minds soon outpaces the parents’ ability to satisfy it. Which is why the libraries are so important and why the internet and the web have become such valuable tools today. In my time it was the printed book – today it is the electronic screen. But while the media may have changed – the purpose has not. http://www.oxfordprospect.co.uk/In-defence-of-the-public-library.html

Leave a Reply

